Stuff I Do Because It’s Fun, Interesting, and/or I Get a Free T-Shirt (Part 1)

Over the past few months I’ve helped my friend Karin by volunteering for a few things. She’s an EMT, so she’s always involved in interesting stuff. She also tells some of best, funniest stories ever.

I could tell some hilarious stories about my job here, but, you know, HIPAA.

Back in May, I volunteered as a point person at the annual Phoenixville Food Truck Festival, which basically included walking up and down the street telling people to move the lines out of the middle of the street so others could get through.

I was also available to answer questions, so when an out-of-towner asked me where she could buy postcards of Phoenixville and knowing that both the historical society and the chamber of commerce were closed, I sent her to Gateway Pharmacy. (See what I do for you, Gateway? You’re welcome.)

I got a $15 food stipend that I used at Uncle B’s Barbecue stand for Kansas City pulled pork and a side of coleslaw, and later I got salted caramel ice cream from Zsa’s ice cream truck. I also got a badge and t-shirt.

t-shirt

Looking serious and official, like I know what I’m doing. The gnats loved my t-shirt.

 

Because it was a street festival, the costumed characters were out in force, from Super Mario to the Fruit-of-the-Loom apple to whatever the hell that green thing is supposed to be from the Philly Pretzel Factory.

mascot

Seriously, what is that thing?!

I also saw:

a guy who was not working the festival dressed in a bear onesie (with ears) for no apparent reason. Oh, hipsters! Don’t ever change!

and

a lady walking a dog that had the poof on the top of its head dyed pink. Really?! Who does that to an animal?

And I had this conversation with a fellow volunteer:

Her: Do you know what people are bragging about?

Me: Well, no, but there’s a long line for the Korean food truck.

Her: Oh, they always have a long line. No. People are bragging about the corn on a stick!!!

Ah yes, corn on the cob on a stick. And beer. The great equalizers.

The live music was a good mix of jazz, country blues, pop, and r&b. The whole festival really did have something for everyone.

And me? Been there. Done that. Got the t-shirt.


One thought on “Stuff I Do Because It’s Fun, Interesting, and/or I Get a Free T-Shirt (Part 1)

Leave a comment